LASPA Center update

Posted: September 17, 2014

Dear Members of the Scripps College community,

I am pleased to inform you that we have resumed the effort to establish the LASPA Center. The Center will advance Scripps’ mission and focus on developing students as world citizens and the next generation of leaders. Informed by the thoughtful discussion and diligent work of faculty, students, staff, alumnae, and Board of Trustees members last year, we have established a new hiring process, engagement approach, and timeline that I’m confident will position the LASPA Center as a dynamic and valued resource for our community.

I have appointed a LASPA Steering Committee composed of faculty, students, staff, alumnae, and board members to help define the role of the Director, form a search committee, and advise on programming and community engagement this academic year. A full list of Steering Committee members follows this message.

At our first meeting August 29, the Steering Committee agreed to initiate a new search for a Director with the intent of filling the position by March 1, 2015. The redefined position reports to the Vice President for Student Affairs and emphasizes program development and implementation, daily operations, and community relations.

The Steering Committee will engage the Scripps community in an exploration of programming options over the next several months. Those discussions will equip the Steering Committee to advise the Director on short- and long-term co-curricular and programmatic strategies that integrate new initiatives, existing projects, and emerging opportunities. We anticipate launching the first phase of a comprehensive LASPA Center plan with special programming during the spring semester.

We will initially house the LASPA Center in a temporary space to allow time to design an appropriate space based on the program requirements.

I am grateful for the commitment of our Steering Committee members, and pleased by their energy and momentum. I strongly encourage the entire community to participate in upcoming opportunities to contribute to the LASPA Center planning process, and to approach Dean Johnson, the Steering Committee members, or me with any questions about the process.

I look forward to making significant progress on this important initiative this year.


Lori Bettison-Varga

LASPA Steering Committee Membership


  • Kimberly Drake, Associate Professor of Writing
  • Winston Ou, Associate Professor of Mathematics


  • Yue (Michelle) Guan ’15
  • Chelci Houston Burroughs ‘17


  • Denice Wint ’02
  • Brenda Ching Glavin ’93


  • Sue Castagnetto, Coordinator, Intercollegiate Feminist Center for Teaching, Research and Engagement
  • Barbara Garcia, Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations


  • Roxanne Wilson ’76
  • H. Andrea Neves

Ex Officio

  • Charlotte H. Johnson, Vice President for Student Affairs, Chair
  • Lori Bettison-Varga, President
  • Gretchen Edwalds-Gilbert, Associate Dean of the Faculty
  • Vicki Klopsch, Executive Director, Career Planning and Resources
  • Director of SCORE (TBD)

« »