2013 Academic Convocation

Posted: September 12, 2013

“The Permutations of Failure”

Cheryl Walker, Richard Armour Chair in Modern Languages and professor of English, delivered the keynote address to students, faculty, and staff.

Photos from Convocation

Faculty updates

Tenure-track faculty

Scripps College is pleased to welcome the follow faculty to campus:

  • Martha Gonzalez, Assistant Professor of Intercollegiate Chicana/o Latina/o Studies
  • Corey Tazzara, Assistant Professor of History
  • Liat Yossifor, Assistant Professor of Art

Assistant professors and rotating scientists

Scripps College became the lead college for the W.M. Keck Science Department this year, so its faculty become Scripps employees for the next [X] years:

  • Kersey Black, Professor of Chemistry
  • Lauren Chan, Visiting Assistant Professor in Biology
  • David Hansen, Dean of W.M. Keck Science Department and Professor of Chemistry
  • John Milton, Professor of Biology
  • Benson Ngo, Visiting Assistant Professor in Chemistry
  • Matthew Powell, Visiting Assistant Professor in Physics
  • Steve Samford, Visiting Assistant Professor in Politics
  • Gretchen Stanton, Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Back from Leave

Please welcome back the following faculty:

  • Thierry Boucquey, Professor of French
  • Melissa Coleman, Assistant Professor of Biology
  • Matt Delmont, Assistant Professor of American Studies
  • Gayle Greene, Professor of Physics
  • Anne Harley, Assistant Professor of Music
  • Marc Katz, Associate Professor of German
  • Juliet Koss, Associate Professor of Art History
  • France Lemoine, Assistant Professor of French
  • Julie Liss, Professor of History
  • Warren Liu, Assistant Professor of English
  • Marina Pérez de Mendiola, Professor of Hispanic Studies
  • Carmen Sanjuan-Pastor, Assistant Professor of Hispanic Studies
  • Emily Wiley, Associate Professor of Biology

Mary W. Johnson Faculty Achievement Awards

Faculty selected for Achievement Awards for the 2011-12 academic year were:


Gail Abrams, Professor of Dance

Jennifer Groscup, Associate Professor of Psychology

Chris Guzaitis, Assistant Professor of Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Adam Landsberg, Professor of Physics

Aaron Matz, Associate Professor of English

Nathalie Rachlin, Professor of French


Matthew Delmont, Associate Professor of American Studies

Ellen Finkelpearl, Helen Chandler Garland Chair in Ancient Studies, Professor of Classics

Michael Spezio, Associate Professor of Psychology

Rivka Weinberg, Associate Professor of Philosophy

Community Service

Lara Deeb, Associate Professor of Anthropology

Julie Liss, Professor of History

Staff Updates

Outstanding Staff Achievement Awards

Congratulations to the eight staff members who won the Outstanding Staff Achievement Awards in May!

  • Denise Grosjean, Catering Lead
  • Soon Lim, Manager of Computer Programs
  • Sarah Ramsey, Assistant to the Director of the Core Curriculum in Interdisciplinary Humanities
  • Carolyn Robles, Associate Director of Public Relations
  • Irene Terrazas, Instituional Advancment Research Associate
  • Amperia Torres Ermosillo, Building Attendant
  • Lola Trafecanty, Director of Grounds
  • Teresa Valdez, Breakfast Cook

« »