Staff Holidays

The following days will be observed as staff holidays and/or closures at Scripps College:

Holiday Celebrated on
Fourth of July Thursday, July 4, 2019
Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2019
The Day before Thanksgiving (Early Release Day) Wednesday, November 27, 2019 (offices close at 12:00 p.m.)
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28, 2019
The Day following Thanksgiving Friday, November 29, 2019
Winter Closure Monday, December 23, 2019
Winter Closure Monday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Winter Closure Thursday, December 26, 2019
Winter Closure Friday, December 27, 2019
Winter Closure Monday, December 30, 2019
Winter Closure Tuesday, December 31, 2019
New Year’s Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 20, 2020
Cesar Chavez Day Friday, March 27, 2020
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2020

Some offices may need to be open for business reasons with staff working on a College holiday. In accordance with Scripps’ policy, non-exempt staff members who are required to work on a College holiday will be paid one and one-half times their rate of pay for each holiday hour worked, in addition to the holiday pay to which they are entitled. Winter Closure Days and Early Release Days are not College holidays and if a non-exempt employee is required to work on a Winter Closure day or Early Release Day, wages are paid at the employee’s regular rate of pay. The College holiday schedule is reviewed and approved each year. College holidays and closure days are subject to change. If you have any questions concerning the holiday schedule, please contact Human Resources at extension 77976.

Approved Senior Staff 05.01.19