The Claremont Colleges

Date Updated: October 27th, 2014

The Claremont Colleges are a cluster of five undergraduate residential schools and two graduate institutions, on adjoining campuses. Each is independent, with its own faculty, student body, administration, and curricular emphasis. Yet each is enriched by the presence of others. The Colleges also combine efforts to provide many services, programs and facilities that help accomplish the group’s common goals.


Claremont Graduate University (CGU), founded in 1925, offers advanced work in the humanities, fine arts, mathematics, social sciences, education, management, executive management and information science. CGU is a graduate-only institution, granting masters and doctoral degrees.


Claremont McKenna College (CMC), founded in 1946 (originally as Claremont Men’s College), offers the Bachelor of Arts degree in 26 fields that often are combined by students in dual majors. Most of the College’s coeducational students choose a major or part of a dual major in economics, government, or international relations. CMC is unique among liberal arts colleges in that it actively supports faculty and student research and publications through nine research institutes.


Claremont University Consortium (CUC), founded in 1925, is the central coordinating body of The Claremont Colleges, and the nucleus of the cluster plan. Under the supervision of a body composed of the presidents of the Colleges, CUC is responsible for the development and administration of central resources and programs, inter-collegiate organization and coordination, and for the establishment of new colleges and professional schools within the group.


Harvey Mudd College (HMC), founded in 1955, is a coeducational college of science and engineering. The curriculum is designed to create scientists and engineers with unusual breadth in their technical education, and a firm academic grounding in the humanities and social sciences. Engineering students may opt for a fifth-year Master’s program.


Keck Graduate Institute (KGI), founded in 1997, offers professional masters degrees in applied life sciences, and plans eventually to grant interdisciplinary Ph.D. degrees. Its curriculum interweaves engineering and the life sciences, and emphasizes project-based learning.


Pitzer College, founded in 1963, is a coeducational liberal arts college that blends classroom instruction with fieldwork to engage a student’s mind, heart and spirit by integrating educational resources on-campus, abroad, and in the local community. Pitzer offers a curriculum that spans forty major fields, and focuses on interdisciplinary, intercultural education with an emphasis on social responsibility and community service.


Pomona College, founded in 1887, is the founding member of the group. Pomona College is an independent, coeducational college offering instruction in all major fields of the arts, humanities, social, and natural sciences. Pomona College is strongly committed to the value of a residential educational community, and emphasizes liberal arts and paraprofessional training. This provides students with considerable exposure to a wide range of fields and first-rate preparation for future professions.


Scripps College, was founded in 1926 by newspaper publisher and philanthropist Ellen Browning Scripps. The Mission of Scripps College is to educate women to develop their intellects and talents through active participation in a community of scholars. Scripps emphasizes a challenging core curriculum, based on interdisciplinary humanistic studies and rigorous training in the disciplines, as the best possible foundation for any goals a woman may pursue