Keck Science Department Seminars

Fall 2013

Thursday, September 19, Keck Science Department Seminar
“Adaptive Evolution of the Color Vision Systems of Mimetic Butterflies”
Prof. Adriana Briscoe, UC Irvine
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, September 24, 5C Chemistry Seminar
An Intro to Career Services
By Career Services
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Thursday, September 26, Keck Science Department Seminar
“Get Stressed! Protein Degradation in Plant Responses to the Environment”
Prof. Bryan Thines, Keck Science
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, October 1, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Aliphatic Amines as a Component of Particulate Matter Air Pollution”
Prof. Katie Purvis-Roberts, Keck Science
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Thursday, October 3, Keck Science Department Seminar
Keck Science Bio/Phys Research Overview
By Keck Science Faculty
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, October 8, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Chemistry at the Interface: Opportunities Where Biology Meets Silicon”
Grace Credo HMC ’96, Intel
11:00-12:00
Shanahan TLB B480 (new building), HMC

Thursday, October 10, Keck Science Department Seminar
“Developing computer tools to guide pharmaceutical drug discovery”
Prof. David Mobley, UC Irvine
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, October 15, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Pleasing Boltzmann: Why static structures of proteins and nucleic acids aren’t enough and what we can do about it”
Thomas J. Lane PO ’10, Stanford University
11:00-12:00
Seaver North Auditorium, Pomona

Thursday, October 17, Keck Science Department Seminar
Title TBA
Lesanna Lahner, Seattle Zoo
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, October 29, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Quantum dynamics from classical trajectories: New approaches to simulating biological and molecular catalysts”
Prof. Tom Miller, Caltech
11:00-12:00
Shanahan TLB B480 (new building), HMC

Thursday, October 31, Keck Science Department Seminar
Title TBA
Prof. Simone Bordoni, Caltech
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, November 5, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Expansion of the Genetic Alphabet”
Floyd Romesberg, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Thursday, November 7, Keck Science Department Seminar
Title TBA
Prof. Khameeka Kit, Stanford University
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, November 12, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Substrate-Directed C-H Borylation of Substituted Arenes”
Prof. Timothy Clark, USD
11:00-12:00
Shanahan TLB B480 (new building), HMC

Thursday, November 14, Keck Science Department Seminar
Title TBA
Prof. Martin Sander, University of Bonn
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Tuesday, November 19, 5C Chemistry Seminar
“Native Mass Spectrometry: Ionization, Ion Mobility, and the Mammalian Circadian Clock”
Prof. Matt Bush, University of Washington
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Thursday, November 21, Keck Science Department Seminar
Title TBA
Prof. Ashok Deniz, Scripps Research Institute
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center

Thursday, December 5, Keck Science Department Seminar
Title TBA
Prof. Tim Higham, UC Riverside
11:00-12:00
Burns Lecture Hall, Keck Science Center