Staff Holidays

The following days will be observed as staff holidays at Scripps College:

Holiday Celebrated on
Fourth of July Monday, July 4, 2016
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2016
The Day before Thanksgiving (Early Release Day) Wednesday, November 23, 2016 (offices close at 12:00 p.m.)
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2016
The Day following Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2016
Christmas Day Sunday, December 25, 2016
Winter Closure Monday, December 26, 2016
Winter Closure Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Winter Closure Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Winter Closure Thursday, December 29, 2016
Winter Closure Friday, December 30, 2016
New Year’s Day Monday, January 2, 2017
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2017
Cesar Chavez Day Friday, March 31, 2017
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2017

Some offices may need to be open for business reasons with staff working on a College holiday. In accordance with Scripps’ policy, non-exempt staff members who are required to work on a College holiday will be paid one and one-half times their rate of pay for each holiday hour worked, in addition to the holiday pay to which they are entitled. Winter Closure Days and Early Release Days are not College holidays and if a non-exempt employee is required to work on a Winter Closure day or Early Release Day, wages are paid at the employee’s regular rate of pay. The College holiday schedule is reviewed and approved each year. College holidays and closure days are subject to change. If you have any questions concerning the holiday schedule, please contact Human Resources at extension 77976.

Approved Senior Staff 05.2016